Taking Contol Of My Own Health Issues. Today Is Just The Beginning

I have always said that one of the most frugal things you can do for your financial self is maintain your health.  Now I weigh far more than I wanted or ever dreamed I could be.  I would say that I am most certainly obese.  The sad thing is I eat healthy and attempt to exercise daily.

The last time I lost my weight was back in 1999.  I worked at a bank and was totally motivated.  I went to Dr. Creepy ( no clue his real name as this is what we called him).  He prescribed water pills and a diet pill that must have been pure speed.  I worked out 60 to 90 minutes a day and controlled my food intake with an iron fist.  I wrote a meal plan and religiously followed it.  In many ways I am ashamed of taking the diet pills, yet even now I wish I could find that magic pill to get me back to where I belong.

The reason this subject is coming up is the new 2015 rules for my husband’s employer provided health insurance.  The rule is that if the employee is overweight per the health provider’s chart than you must pay an extra $600 per year.  Sadly my husband is slightly overweight.  On the chart he is obese, but if he actually went down to the suggested weight, my husband would look completely unhealthy.  How do I know?  Because during our darkest days financially he was so devastated and depressed he lost a large amount of weight very quickly and looked gaunt and sick.  He scared our children as we thought he was wasting away.

I have known that this day was coming.  I expected it.  Thankfully they don’t used this against we spouses for now.  I have begun a thoughtful plan to take care of our health.

Instead of the usual this is just not fair, I have to figure out how to take care of me and my husband. You see I could sit here and cry that I am fat and they are discriminating against me because in a way they are.  But then again they are not.  I hate being a number or a statistic.  I also hate how complicated things are now in the age of the affordable care act

So here I sit.  I have to take control of my own health period. The way  see it is I have two major issues.  My weight and my osteoarthritis.  They are hand in hand issues.  The weight makes the inflammation worse and the inflammation makes it hard to lose my weight.  Kind of like being 16 years old and wanting a car, but you can’t get a car without a job. Of course you can’t get a job without a car.

I have been researching for the better part of two weeks and have tried a couple of things.  I feel it is beginning to work, but I have a feeling this is going to be a long term process of adding and eliminating foods, herbs, essential oils, and exercise in order to find the help I need to deal with the inflammation.

I will be updating you on everything I learn.  I have learned that whatever helps the inflammation or osteoarthritis makes the peri menopause worse.  I have to choose the lesser of two evils there. I have to choose ridding my body of inflammation over the menopausal symptoms as the inflammation causes pain and affects my physical health.

Do you suffer from any health issues? What do you do to deal with pain or the symptoms.  Better yet do you have a physician you trust or have they seemed to let you down?  I would love to hear from you!!!

 

Leave a Reply

