Making Liquid Soap

Over a year ago I bought 3 bars of Dial brand soap.  It smelled like Pomegranate and it was so fragrant.  I stored it in the garage for the day that I ran out of my hand soap.  I had purchased this huge bottle of liquid hand soap and that stuff lasted forever!

Now, I never use soap bars.  They are messy and hairs and other stuff stick to them.  They love to stick to the soap dish making more of a mess.  They slip out of your hands and into the shower.  I just don’t like them.  I keep a couple of bars of Ivory soap around for my dad because he prefers bar soap though.

This time I had a project in mind.  I read in other blogs about using bar soap to make liquid soap.  It made sense at the time.  It doesn’t to me now, but that is another story.  I bought some with an appealing scent and have waited just until the liquid soap to run out.  It finally ran out.

168 169

This was so simple.  I filled up a microwave safe container that held 6 cups with water and heated this for 10 minutes.  While the water was heating in the microwave I grated one bar of soap.  I added it to the hot water and stirred.  Then I took a whisk and whisked it until the soap was melted.  The concoction was still to watery so I grated another bar of soap and incorporated it into the water and soap mixture.  I warmed up the water for 5 minutes.  It is still a little thin, so I added the third bar of soap after grating and reheating in the microwave.

The three bars of soap was way to much.  Once the soap cooled it is now a congealed mess.  I found this out because I attempted to wash my hands after cutting up some chicken.    I would suggest you make this with one bar of soap and let it cool before you add another bar of soap.

170171

 

I made this because I had spent the money on the bars of soap.  I have come into the knowledge of how to make soap in a crock pot.  This makes more sense to me as I can make body wash and soap with it.  I can make it with any scent I would like.  It is more natural and for pennies I can have a boatload of soap to be creative with.  It stopped making sense to make liquid soap with a bar of soap.  I guess I have just gotten to the place that natural beats chemicals.

Most recipes call for 1 bar of soap to 6 cups of water.  They also call for heating on the stove, but I don’t have the patience to just stir, stir, stir.  This works just as well and takes less hands on time.  The place that I work at carries foaming soap and people love foaming soap, especially kids.  Want to know the secret to foaming soap?  Add water.   Fill the soap container 1/2 to 2/3 full and add water to fill.  That is it.

Liquid Soap

  • 1 bar soap
  • 6 cups water

Heat water in the microwave for about 10 minutes.  Grate soap and stir into hot water slowly.  Use a whisk to mix the last bits of soap into the water.

The next post on soap will be from scratch.  I have to wait for this stuff to be used up before I make that.  It would be a waste to do it now!

Leave a Reply

