A Simple Tomato Sauce Recipe For Pasta

Image

Before I start this blog, I want to state that the above picture is from the blog SmittenKitchen.  I have to say that Deb Perelman, David Lebovitz, and Alton Brown have been the most inspirational food people (for lack of a better term) for me.  They have taught me that I can do most anything I set my mind to food wise.   Besides David has lived in Paris for the past two decades, has written various books on pastry and Deb Perelman has been a food blogger who has had her recipes published in cookbook form.  If my kids read this, cookbooks by either author would be awesome gifts!

Back to my regularly planned blog.  I’m bored of making my spaghetti sauce.  You can click this link to see my recipe: http://www.creativelivingwithsue.wordpress.com/recipes.  It works and the my husband loves it, but like I said I am bored of it.

Our garden has been producing loads of tomatoes.  I mean loads, just not enough to can and I have no way to can anymore anyway.  They are producing enough to freeze, but there is no room in my refrigerator freezer to freeze them.  For those of you up north, I have had very little luck with tomatoes during the summer months as it gets to hot here in Central Florida for the flowers to turn into tomatoes, but fall and spring brings on lots.  We haven’t had much frost this year and the weather has been decent the majority of this winter so we have tomatoes!

I had a mission to get rid of all the tomatoes in one swoop.  I decided that our vegetarian meal of the week would be pasta and sauce. We were out of my stock of spaghetti so I used angel hair instead.

I searched online on my favorite sites and found this simple, yet tasty pasta sauce.  Very quick to make and so easy it just surprised me.

Tomato Sauce with Butter and Onions  From SmittenKitchen.com adapted from Marcela Hazan’s Essentials of Italian Cookin

28 ounces (800 grams) whole peeled tomatoes from a can (San Marzano, if you can find them)*
5 tablespoons (70 grams) unsalted butter
1 medium-sized yellow onion, peeled and halved
Salt to taste

Put the tomatoes, onion and butter in a heavy saucepan (it fits just right in a 3-quart) over medium heat. Bring the sauce to a simmer then lower the heat to keep the sauce at a slow, steady simmer for about 45 minutes, or until droplets of fat float free of the tomatoes. Stir occasionally, crushing the tomatoes against the side of the pot with a wooden spoon. Remove from heat, discard the onion, add salt to taste (you might find, as I did, that your tomatoes came salted and that you didn’t need to add more) and keep warm while you prepare your pasta.

Serve with spaghetti, with or without grated parmesan cheese to pass.

Like I said I used angel hair pasta and started with fresh tomatoes instead of canned. My sauce took longer, but was so tasty.  Deb wrote that this was great without the Parmesan.  Sorry, but I found it needed a thick layer.  She also wrote that she made this again without the canned tomatoes and used a can of tomato puree.  It had less texture, but worked rather well.  The link to this post on Smitten Kitchen is http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2010/01/tomato-sauce-with-butter-and-onions/

I liked it for how simple it was, the ease of cooking it and the taste was wonderful.  My husband loved it and that was enough for it to become a new entry in my recipe bible.

Here are the links to Smitten Kitchen and David Lebovitz.

http://smittenkitchen.com/

http://www.davidlebovitz.com/

2 thoughts on “A Simple Tomato Sauce Recipe For Pasta”

  1. Since you can’t freeze more tomatoes or can them, you can make your sauce and dry it in a dehydrator. You can make solar dehydrators so that you don’t up your electric bill. When you want to use it, you just add back the water that dried out. So if you put two cups of sauce to dry, and you have a cup of dry “leather”, add a cup of hot water back to it.

Leave a Reply

