Baking Madeleines for Christmas.

Let me tell you about a success that turned into failure.  Never happens right?  For me, it happens a lot.  I just can’t seem to leave well enough alone when cooking or with just about anything.  Just ask my husband.  He complains about how I get a recipe perfect and then I just have to change it up.  Drives the poor man crazy.

In this case I was baking. I had yesterday off so I decided to bake bread and some cookies.  The bread comes out nearly perfect.  It just never rises high enough for me.  I have dreams of Grandma Mitchell’s mile high loafs.  I mixed up one batch of cookies and put them in the fridge.  Then I decided to make a batch of Madeleines.  The last time I made them it was awful!

I’ve spoken of my love affair with all things French.  The Madeleine was no different.  I had no idea how to make them or even what they really were.  I had no idea what they would even taste like, but just had to get a pan to try.  I got a pan and a french bread pan. The first recipe was such a disappointment   There was no delicate flavor, just boring.   I ended up throwing the entire batch away.

I found a recipe at myspicesage.com.  It was for an Orange Madeleine.  It sounded intriguing so I attempted it.  The only problem was that my orange extract was a no show in the cupboard.  The vanilla nut extract was though.  So I substituted the orange for the vanilla nut and proceeded to bake them.

As you can see they came out perfect.  I mean they were perfect.  Light and fluffy, and spongy, with a very subtle flavor.  Then I completely ruined them.  The bright idea I came up with was to dip them in dark chocolate.

The chocolate flavor completely overwhelmed the subtle flavor vanilla nut flavor and I am left shaking my head.  I was going to throw them away, but I decided to keep them and see how it goes.

Orange Madeleines

3 large Eggs
3/4 Cup of Sugar
1 tsp Vanilla
1 tsp Vanilla nut extract
1/4 tsp salt
1 1/4 cup All Purpose Flour
3/4 cup of butter melted
Powder sugar

Preheat oven to 325 for nonstick pans or 350 for regular pans.

Melt the butter and let cool

Combine eggs and sugar in large bowl of a stand mixer and whisk on high for thirty seconds until slightly foamy.  I did this step by hand so no foam appeared and there was very little difference in appearance.

Add extracts.

Add salt and flour slowly and mix completely.  Scrape sides of bowl down and slowly add melted butter.
Scrape down sides of bowl and whisk on high for 30 seconds if using a mixer.  I just stirred by hand with a wooden spoon.

Prepare pans.  If using a non stick pan brush with butter using a pastry brush.  Using a regular pan?  Grease pan with butter and flour.

 Fill madeleine tins with a little over a tablespoon of batter in each mold.

Bake in center of oven for 15 to 17 minutes.  Let cool for 20 minutes and dust with powder sugar.  

If I had left this recipe alone it would have been wonderful, but I melted about a 1/2 cup of dark chocolate chips and dipped the top of the little cake.  Like I said before, total disaster.

The recipe above is perfect for a subtle wonderful tiny cake.  I plan on making them again. This time without the dark chocolate.  If you are looking for an addition to your holiday baking, I would really recommend this one.  Or if you are looking for a dessert to serve at a small get together these are awesome!  I think anything French brings a certain boost to every occasion.  Told you I am obsessed!

Anyone else out there have many disasters in their cooking that they would like to share?

Leave a Reply

