Homemade Mayonnaise.

This post is being written as I am in Jacksonville, Florida waiting for our daughter to give birth to her first son, our third grandson.  It is also being written for my friend Nancy.  Nancy requested my mayonnaise recipe.

I have always bought mayo.  It has a great shelf life and is easy to use.  That was also one of my issues. The shelf life requires lots of preservatives. The other part was the cost.  I just paid $2 for the Aldi brand of mayo.

The last belt tightening has caused me to search for even more cost saving ideas.  I attempted quite a while ago to make mayonnaise.  The recipe took quite a lot of egg yolks and lots of oil.  It made more than I could use and spoiled before I could use it.  It just didn’t work for me.

I came upon a really cool idea for an eggless mayonnaise that interested me. The recipe is from David Lebowitz.  Another awesome blogger and one of my heros.  The link to his eggless mayo is here.  This is still to much and would go bad before I could use it.  I haven’t tried it yet, but it will be amazing as it comes from him.

The search was on.  Spending $2.00 when I don’t have to is silly.  I buy lots of eggs and have on hand lots of canola oil.  I decided to search everywhere and finally found a perfect size recipe for us.  Alton Brown has it on the Foodnetwork.com. This is the link.  This has worked well.  I can make this and use it up within a decent time.  My husband who is not a fan of mayonnaise (he prefers Miracle Whip) likes this too.  I am shocked!

Alton Brown’s Mayonnaise
1 egg yolk
1/2 teaspoon fine salt
1//2 teaspoon dry mustard
2 pinches sugar
2 teaspoons fresh squeezed lemon juice
1 tablespoon white wine vinegar
1 cup oil, safflower or corn*

1.     Mix egg yolk with salt and dry mustard,
2.     In a food processor put the egg mixture
3.     Turn on food processor and slowly add oil though feeder tube.
4.     The mixture will look like mayonnaise in about 45 seconds more or less.

*Any vegetable oil will work.  I use canola oil.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Homemade Mayonnaise.”

Leave a Reply

