Easy Crock Pot Pulled Pork.

We recently had our son and his family, and our daughter and hers over for a Saturday.  There were 8 of us for lunch.  I have gotten tired of making roast chicken.  I don’t like to cook pasta with family.  More because I am not sure of how good my pasta tastes.  Yes, I am a little insecure concerning my cooking.  I also wanted to just enjoy them rather than cook all day.  The two granddaughters are also really picky so I am never sure what to make them.

I  usually do a roast chicken when we have company over.  My rotisserie is not working well.  One of my favorite go to main courses when having company is a slow cooked pork shoulder.  It is so easy to prepare, filling, and makes the house smell like you have slaved all day.  This is also quite good as a 2 day meal for a family of 4.  They are also kind of inexpensive.  Here we have a place called Thrifty Produce. I purchased a 5 pound pork shoulder for $1.49 a pound.  Everywhere else it is $2.50 or more. It had a good layer of fat if you know what I mean.  I have bought pork shoulder with close to 1/3rd of the weight was in fat.  This one was lean with just enough to bring out a great flavor, but not so much that it tasted greasy.  We had enough food for everyone to get their fill and enough for a meal on Monday.   Of course we didn’t have it on Monday because on Sunday morning I woke up to find it nearly gone.  My sweetie had a midnight snack and ate nearly all of it.

The hardest part is putting all the spices together.

Crock Pot Pulled Pork
1 Pork Roast* approx. 4 pounds
2 ounce Salt
4 ounces Molasses**
water

1tsp Cumin
1 tsp Fennel Seed***
1 tsp Coriander
1 Tbsp Chile powder
1 Tbsp Onion powder
1 Tbsp Paprika.

Soak pork roast over night in water, molasses, and salt in fridge.

Remove the next morning and dry.

Mix all the spices together and rub onto meat.  Place into a crock pot set on low for 6 hours or until falling off the bone.  You can put on high for 4 hours if needed.

*This recipe calls for pork roast. I have used pork shoulder, roasts, tenderloins, and pork butt as long as it is not smoked.  I am positive you could replace with beef or chicken too.

**The recipe calls for 2oz salt per 2 quarts of water and 4oz of molasses.  I just can’t bear using this much. Molasses is just to expensive and that much salt freaks me out.  I now use the amount stated for salt and 2 ounces of Molasses.  Works wonderfully.

***Fennel seed is used whole in this recipe.  I grind mine in a coffee or spice grinder or the mortar and pestle.

The great thing about this recipe is how easy and versatile it is. This can go from a picnic to Christmas night dinner.  We usually serve with buns and my awesome Kansas City Bar B Que sauce. Recipe here.  It can be paired with potato salad or mashed potatoes.  Enjoy!

By the way this recipe is from Alton Brown! The man is a food god!

Leave a Reply

