Tangerine blueberry walnut pancakes and a beautiful morning!

Woke up to beautiful cool weather today.  My windows are open and I am drinking my cup of coffee as I write this.  I try to write about 3 posts a head so that I don’t get to far behind.  As my middle daughter told me, I write well, but sometimes I stink because I don’t always post as often as I should.  I lost quite a few posts when my laptop died.  Now I am starting over.

With fall comes changes in the weather. On an earlier post I wrote about how fall was my least favorite time of the year until moving to Florida.  Now I just look forward to it.  Today is just one of those days.  Sunny, low humidity, and low 80’s.  For us here in the south the a/c can be turned off and coffee drank on the porch in relative comfort. Even hot coffee is enjoyable on a day like today.

We have our eldest daughter and her husband coming over today and we are attending our granddaughter’s final cheer leading game for the year, I think.  I can’t wait.  It is a lot like Thanksgiving for me when our kids come home.  I am very thankful for having good relationships with them all.

the birthday cake that we didn’t get to eat.

I have a lot to do this morning with Kristen and Joseph visiting and with getting ready for our youngest daughter to have her baby.  I have to keep laundry clean and the house ready for my husband to spend a little time on his own, maybe.  Today’s menu will be slow cooked pork shoulder in the crock pot with potato salad.  My daughter is bringing the dessert and I have the cake from our birthdays in the freezer.  With all that to do I am glad breakfast is going to be quick and easy. This past week one of our money saving meals was eggs and pancakes.  Of course we had pancakes left over.  I just put the left overs in the fridge and have pulled them out for breakfast or dinner as needed.

The basic recipe is Martha Stewart’s, with a few changes.

not mine.  I forgot to take pictures!

Tangerine blueberry walnut pancakes
1/2 cup oat flour*
1/2 cup flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
2 tbsp sugar
1/2 cup chopped toasted walnuts**
1 large egg
1 cup buttermilk
2 tbsp melted butter
1/3  cup tangerine juice***
zest from 1 tangerine.
1/2 to 2/3 cup blueberries

1.  Heat a griddle to 375 f
2.  Put flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt sugar, and chopped walnuts into one large bowl.  Using a whisk mix all ingredients.
3. Melt butter in a microwaveable bowl, add buttermilk, tangerine zest, and egg.  Whisk until well mixed.
4. Add buttermilk mixture to the flour mixture and mix until just combined.  You will want to see lots of lumps and some flour.
5.  Add blueberries and mix until combined.  You will see lumps but no flour.
6. Cook on griddle as with any pancake.

*oat flour is pretty easy.  You don’t have to go out and buy it.  Just take a heaping 1/2 cup of old fashioned oatmeal and put into a food processor and process until it is a flour like consistency.

**Toasting nuts is one of my favorite things. The nuts have a warmer deeper taste. Just put in a pan on the stove top over medium heat.  Just move them around every so often because they will burn.  Most recipes state to take them off of stove when you smell the nuts.  That doesn’t work for me.  I have to taste the nuts. When they taste right then I take them off of the stove.  It takes maybe 10 minutes or less.  If you burn them on one side don’t throw them away.  Just chop them up and you can still use them in this.  If you burn them until they are completely black just throw them away!

***1 tangerine is all the juice you need.  Just juice like an orange.  You could use orange as a replacement.

I serve with butter and pecan syrup or maple syrup.  These do come out quite thin.  You can add more flour or less butter milk for thicker pancakes.

Have a wonderful morning!

3 thoughts on “Tangerine blueberry walnut pancakes and a beautiful morning!”

  1. I usually take a cup of milk and 1 tablespoon of distilled white vinegar. You can also used yogurt. Substitutes really don't taste as well, but do the job. In fact I did the mile and vinegar thing making this. Hope it helps.

Leave a Reply

