Michigan and a reunion. Leg 3 of our vacation

We got to my parents late that Tuesday and woke up late for us.  We spent time with my parents.  Chris fixed things that needed done most of the time we were up there.  We were very blessed to be able to see his Aunt and cousin.  We also picked up a metal bed that used to belong to his grandparents and  great aunt before them.  We used that bed when we were first married.  Chris wanted a pizza from Malano’s Pizza in Niles.  It had been 30 years since he had one.  I have to say it beats the pizza I couldn’t wait to try when I went home in March. It was an excellent pizza..

The next day my husband was heading up to Holland Michigan, land of  tulips and wooden shoes, to visit his sister and dad.  I had other plans.  I met up with some friends at a coffee shop in Buchanan, Michigan.  I had butterflies in my tummy before going.  I was looking forward to seeing everyone, but it was the first time I had seen 2 of the girls since graduating 30 years ago.  Wow, that just doesn’t seem possible. Anyway, it was a wonderful time.  I am so glad we all got together. I was asked if I was going to post this in my blog and I said no, but I changed my mind.  I have not laughed so hard in a long time.  The time flew by so quickly I didn’t realize how late it was until Chris called me to tell me he was home.  The time spent with each woman in this picture was such a blessing.  I was encouraged by the lives and outlooks they all have.  I think each woman in this picture have amazing lives to be shared and that we can all learn from.  They are truly beautiful inside and out.

somehow I ended up in the middle. even better somehow they got a picture with me in it.

The next day we headed out for the mean city of Detroit.  Well not quite Detroit, but Troy Michigan.  We were able to see my husband’s brother and sister.  His sister took us to visit his grandmother in the nursing home.  The deep sadness when seeing a loved one in the grip of a disease like Alzheimer’s is so awful.  She didn’t know us of course.  She used to remember my husband and his brother more than most. She only reacted to my brother in law’s name.  She tried to maintain a conversation.  I was impressed in 2 ways.  The nursing home was very nice.  The people seemed to care about the people in their care.  The other was the way Grandma may not have known us, but liked us.  I know it broke my husband’s heart seeing her this bad, but he was encouraged by the type of place she was living.

We left Troy at 2:30 pm and headed to Toledo Ohio.  Unbeknownst to me my husband planned to celebrate our 30th anniversary in the same town we were married in sort of.  lol  We were married 30 years earlier in Perrysburg, Ohio the weekend before.  Perrysburg is a town just outside of Toledo in Wood County Ohio.  He said he just couldn’t let it pass that we were so close at nearly the same time.  We had dinner at Outback Steak house and stayed at the Hampton Inn a couple of blocks away.  Outback was nothing to write home about, but the waitress was sweet.  The food was completely uninspired.  The best thing I can say of the food is the blue cheese was AWESOME!  I mean awesome!  It was the best blue cheese I have ever ate, The salad would have been nothing special with out the blue cheese.

The Hampton Inn was very nice.  Unfortunately I was so excited to take a shower and wash my hair, I slipped in the shower and have a tub size bruise on the side of  my left leg.  I took my shower right when I got there.  Chris took his shower the next morning and said this thing is slippery.  I would suggest to Hampton Inn to please at least put some thing in the tub to make it less slippery!

The next step is home!

Leave a Reply

