I am saying goodbye store bought condensed soup!

This weekend the house we have been working on is nearly done.  My husband and son spent most of their time there and I got to spend time grocery shopping and cleaning.  It was a very productive weekend.

Saturday was the end of my groceries.  I baked a couple of loaves of bread using up the last of my freshly ground wheat.  I really need to grind some more.  Sunday, I walked for an hour and cleaned.  Today was the start of tax school for me.  With Chris’ hours I needed to make sure he had dinner ready for today.  I slow cooked some ribs for yesterday and made tuna and noodles for today and tomorrow.  I had made my grocery list and left a key ingredient off on purpose.  A very large can of mushroom soup.

I was searching Pinterest for money saving and healthy ideas as I usually do and found a link for condensed soup.  This is the link I came upon http://www.mindfullyfrugalmom.com/2011/11/make-it-yourself-cream-soup-substitute/.   I tucked it onto a board for a time when I would finally decide to try it.  You see it scared me a little.  The few foods that I make with condensed soup are my husband’s favorites.  I really didn’t want to make his tuna and noodles or chicken enchiladas with something he would be unhappy with.  I knew I would have to try this as it has no preservatives and you controlled how much salt is in it.  By leaving the mushroom soup off the list it forced me to try and make it.  I quadrupled the recipe because I need to have enough for the chicken enchiladas next week.

This recipe is for the basic part of the soup and not the mushroom, celery, or chicken or any other type of soup.  I prepared it as directed except for the quadrupling of the recipe.  I thought of sauteing the mushrooms, but that didn’t seem necessary as I was putting them in a hot white sauce and then baking it.  I put it in my tuna and noodles.  The true test of how well this worked was my husbands reaction.  He could not even tell the difference.  Believe me he would have noticed!  I am not even allowed to buy store brand cream soup.

Cream Condensed Soup Substitute
(from Cooks.com)
1 tbsp. butter
3 tbsp. flour
1/2 c. low sodium chicken broth ( I am pretty sure you could use vegetable broth)
1/2 c. low-fat milk ( I used whole milk)
1. Melt the butter in a saucepan on medium heat. Whisk in the flour to create a roux.
2. Add the chicken broth and then the milk, whisking constantly to prevent lumps.
3. Bring to a boil and cook, stirring constantly, until the mixture thickens. You can add mushrooms, diced onion, or diced celery, depending on what you will be using the soup for.
I chopped the mushrooms fine.  I also multiplied everything by 4.  This recipe can be frozen in one cup or 2 cup portions.  I froze half of this and will tell you how it thaws out.  This does not add salt, but I did.  Chris would have noticed it was missing.  I have to say this is the end of purchasing condensed  cream soup!  I can feel more confident knowing what I am feeding  my family.
There is so much to work on for the next few weeks. I have to get ready for a vacation, do my fall cleaning, make up some food ideas for the trip, and prepare whatever I want to take to my grandsons.  I am also working on the tax school. 


Leave a Reply

