Shampoo free Week 3, how the deodorant is working, and homemade toothpaste?

Week 3 started out not so good.  Put my hair into a pony tail and when I removed the holder my hair stayed in the exact same position as if the pony tail holder was still in my hair.  Yuck!  I was so not impressed!

I brushed it with the boars hair brush and that helped a bit. I am getting very discouraged with this experiment.  I went back and read the other blogs of people who go poo free and decided to add some more baking soda when I wash my hair.  The formula is now 4 tablespoons of baking soda to 2 cups of water.

I just showered and washed my hair with the new formula with more baking soda.  It worked so much better.  It is still not as good as what I did the first week.  I just realized that I added a tsp of honey to the mix.  My next day to wash my hair is Monday next week.  I will add the honey and I need to look at my brush.  I thought it was a boars hair, but  now I am not sure.  I will go to Ulta to see if they have one and get it today.

I have decided that I will continue with this for one more week.  We are leaving on vacation in a little over 2 weeks and I don’t want to be dealing with any issues. I have to dye my hair and get it cut so I will be making an appointment to get it cut.   I still have to say there are some really wonderful benefits of going poo free.  My hair is thicker and I am not losing as much hair as before.  I am impressed with that part of this experiment.  I am also impressed with how shiny it is.

Now what really is working is my home made deodorant.  I love, love, love it.  It has very little scent and seems to last all day.  The only thing I think I want to change with this recipe is to drop the beeswax,  I think it just made the recipe to thick.

The toothpaste is going pretty good too.  I love how clean and white my teeth are.  I have also started oil pulling and using hydrogen peroxide to rinse my teeth.  More about that as I work on the recipe and chart the oil pulling.

Leave a Reply

