The 2nd and final baby shower!

Exhaustion setting in.  Why does no one ever tell you what going through Menopause feels like?  Woke up this morning so groggy coffee didn’t help!  We had the last baby shower for the year that I got to plan.  It went really well and was so great to see 2 of my girls!  There is something very awe inspiring to see your daughters become mothers.  Because of distance I didn’t get to see my middle daughter pregnant with either of my two grandson’s.  She sent pictures but that wasn’t the same.  I am really sorry I missed that part of her life.

One thing I must say is that my girls have wonderful in laws to deal with.  I am very pleased that my grandchildren will be loved by a great many grandparents and extended families.  It is a blessing in all children’s lives to be so loved.  It is also so wonderful to see how hard they all work to include equally both sides as much as they can with their kids.   Sometimes circumstances can make it very difficult to do, but it is never far from their minds.

I, myself, tried to do the same thing.  We were very lucky that our families lived within an hour and a half of each other, but we only saw the majority of my husband’s family on holidays.  I know I hurt my parents with the way we did it, but that was never the intention.  Chris’ family was never around and my kids deserved to have the chance to get to know their grandparents, cousins, aunts, and uncles. So we spent the majority of these holidays with his family.  We never got Thanksgiving ever worked out to anyone’s satisfaction, but Christmas was a 3 day event! It was such a wonderful holiday!

This baby shower was at my daughter’s house so I just cooked and prepared everything.  We were going to use the games from Stephanie’s baby shower, but no.  People just talked and seemed to have fun.  I am not the kind of person who really knows how to host a party so it was a little nerve wracking.

The cake was beautiful.  If you live in the Orlando area I can give you the name of the most tremendous artist in decorating a cake.  You really don’t want to cut the cake to eat it.  But you are very glad you did when you take the first bite.  She is wonderful!

Food was super easy, but time consuming.  I don’t have the luxury of buying premix of anything and my dog ate the broccoli for the veggie tray!  Yes he did!  I had done my odd week of grocery shopping and put away the meat but left everything else out thinking that dog would never get into anything because it was nothing a dog would eat.  I usually put pureed broccoli and carrots in his home made dog food, but I just didn’t think he would eat it!

I baked my croissants and had fresh made chicken salad, a french onion dip with chips and veggies, and spinach dip with tortilla chips.  I also made a grape and strawberry skewer and it was pretty cute.  Stephanie made this really awesome salty, crunchy, sweet, and sour bar.  It was pretty great!

My awesome croissants were part of the foods served!

      


Spinach Dip (adapted from Hot Spinach and artichoke dip by Alton Brown)

2 1/2 cups canned or frozen spinach (drained)
8 oz cream cheese.  I have used both lite and regular
1/4 cup lite mayo.  I have used regular mayo too
1/4 cup plain yogurt.  You can use sour cream too
1/3 cup Parmesan or Romano cheese
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp garlic powder
Boil spinach in 1 cup of water.  Drain and discard liquid.
Warm cream cheese in microwave for 1 minute.  Stir in the rest of ingredients. Serve hot.
Onion Dip  (I am not sure where this one is from, but I think from Alton Brown  too.)
2 TBSP Olive oil
1 1/2 cup sweet onion
1 tsp salt
1 1/2 cup sour cream
3/4 mayo
1/4 garlic powder
1/4 tsp white pepper
Put oil into a large pan and heat over medium heat.  Add onions and 1/2 tsp of salt.
Saute until golden brown stirring occasionally.  About 20 minutes.
Cool until room temp.  Combine1/2 tsp salt, sour cream, mayo, and spices  in a medium mixing bowl.  Add onion and combine.  Cool for an hour or so. 
Chicken Salad  (Food Network)
4 cups cooked chicken
1 stalk celery diced very small
4 scallions or 1/4 cup of sweet onion
1 1/2 tsp tarragon or dill (I always use dill)
2 Tbsp fresh parsley
1 cup Mayo
2 tsp Lemon Juice
1 tsp Dijon Mustard
2 tsp kosher salt
black pepper to taste
In a medium mixing bowl toss chicken, celery, scallions and herbs.
In a small bowl combine everything else and mix well.  add to chicken mixture and mix.  
I make this the night before and refrigerate.  Serve usually on my croissants, but Chris just ate it on white bread and was pretty happy with it.  
Blueberry Lemonade
2 bottles of blueberry pomegranate juice  46 ounces each
2 bottles of  plain Seltzer water 33.8 ounces each
1 1/2 cups of Lemon juice
3 cups of sugar (I started with 2 cups and added until it tasted right)
Combine blueberry juice and lemon juice.  Add sugar.  Add Seltzer water.  Add ice cubes and serve.  Garnish with fresh blueberries.
The cutest thing was the basket and skewers with grapes and a strawberry on top.  So cute! And if you want the croissant recipe here is the link!  http://creativeliving2011.blogspot.com/2012/06/truly-wonderful-croissant.html

Leave a Reply

