An All Natural Basket For Baby!

When I thought about hosting 2 baby showers within 5 weeks of each other I was very freaked out.  I have no experience entertaining. None, zip, nada, zilch!  We did host the rehearsal dinner kind of thing for Stephanie’s wedding last year, but that was just food.  Nearly 30 years of marriage I don’t have serving dishes, or other basics of entertaining. So I was kind of at a loss as to what to do.  I have to give Kristen so much praise because with out her it would have been a mess. Tomorrow I will go over the foods that were made for this day.

I wanted to create a baby gift of my own.  One that I can say I made.  Now when I was expecting my own kids I made quilts.  I attempted to create on for Hunter (my eldest grandson).  It never got finished.  Not sure why, but I just wasn’t happy with it.  I felt like it was a failure.

Anyway, Kristen and Stephanie are choosing cloth diapers.  I used them and loved them. Kristen is using a diaper service and Stephanie is purchasing her own as Jacksonville does not have a diaper service.  I went out shopping and found a cute jungle themed basket that was on clearance at Ross.  I paid $6 and it was $15 over at Michaels.  The basket is sturdy and cute.  It can be used in the future in many ways.

In the back: baby wipes, baby oil,
Next row:  diaper laundry soap and baby powder
Front row:   diaper cream
 The first thing I made was baby powder.  I took a cheese shaker and added cornstarch.  Baby powder is made from talc. Talc is a mineral and does break down, but not enough to be safe.  It breaks down into minute pieces that is similar to asbestos. The fine particles can cause allergies and lung cancer if breathed in.  Cornstarch is made from the dried center of corn kernels.It is more absorbent than talc.  It should be used lightly as it clumps more easily, but it doesn’t cause allergies and lung cancer.
I then decided to add a package of diaper laundry soap.  I didn’t want to use my own laundry soap recipe as I don’t know how the use of lava soap on a baby would work.  I decided to play it safe.  I used 1 bar of ivory soap, washing soda, and borax.  Recipes to come.

Baby oil was next.  I decided to use a mixture as I only had enough almond oil to fill half of the bottle I would be using.  I added grape seed oil, almond oil and lavender essential oil.  Almond oil has been used in India extensively for massaging babies. It is said to have a calming effect on babies.   Grape seed oil is very high in antioxidants and contains high amounts of vitamin E, vitamin C, Beta-Carotene, and vitamin D.  This makes it a very good massaging oil for babies.  The lavender essential oil is calming and a great antiseptic. Combining these agents make a great message oil and helps with cradle cap.

I decided to make a diaper cream that is anti fungal.  This took beeswax, coconut oil, lavender essential oil, and calenduna essential oil.  This was so much fun to make and quite a bit easier than I thought.

The last item I made for my newest grandson’s basket was baby wipes.  Because Aodhan won’t be born until October I  suggest that the baby wipes be stored in the fridge.  This was so easy.  I buy some of the greatest paper towels ever. Viva!  The only issue I had was taking the cardboard tube out of the center of the paper towels. Instead I just cut the paper towel roll in half and unrolled and folded the sheets so that when one is taken a new one comes up.  This was easy!  Just added 1 cup of distilled water, aloe vera gel, and some essential oils.

Cloth diapers were the next step.  I must have went to 4 stores before I found some.

The next gift basket I make will be for my eldest daughter. Since she is having a diaper service I will have to make up a different basket.

Baby Powder
Cornstarch

Laundry Soap for Diapers
1 bar Ivory soap.
1/2 cup washing soda
1/2 cup borax
1 scoop Oxyclean*

Grate the Ivory soap.  Put into a food processor and add the washing soda and borax.  Mix until combined well.  Use 1 to 2 TBSP per load of diapers.  Rinse with vinegar once.  Then rinse with plain water a second time.

*Oxyclean is used when the diapers smell bad.

Baby Oil
Fill bottle with Olive oil, Jojoba oil, Sweet Almond oil, Grape seed oil.
1 to 5 drips of essential oil

I filled the bottle mostly full.  Added 1 drop of colendula and 4 drops lavender essential oil.  Shake

Diaper Cream
1/2 ounce beeswax
3 1/2 ounce coconut oil
1 to 5 drops Lavender oil

Put a glass container that will hold 4 + ounces.  Place beeswax into glass container.  Put glass container into a sauce pan with water.  Make sure water does not enter glass jar or spills out.
Add coconut oil.  I heated the water over medium heat until it had a soft boil. I then turned the temperature down to simmer and covered pot.

Once everything melted, I removed pan from heat, added essential oil.  Removed glass container and stirred the melted mixture.  Let it sit until harden and put a lid on glass container.

Baby Wipes Anti fungal This is from Homestead.com 
1 cup distilled water
1 TBSP white vinegar
1/4 cup Aloe Vera Gel
1/2 TBSP calendula essential oil
1 drop Lavender essential oil
1 drop Tea Tree oil
1 roll of good quality paper towels cut in half

Mix all ingredients except paper towels.  I used Viva paper towels. I could not remove the card board container from the paper towels so I just folded them back and forth so that they came apart easy.  I think you could also separate each towel and place in container.  Place into container and pour onto the paper towels.  Cover and let the water mixture seep in.

I just wish I knew I could do this when my kids were young!

By the way I have opened an Etsy account to sell these baskets.  The basket will vary as I have to find one.  I make this up to order too.  All the items are full size.  https://www.etsy.com/listing/105440986/diaper-basket-with-diapers-and-all

Have a creative living kind of day!

Leave a Reply

