A quick breakfast when you are on the go!

Good morning all!  Great news!!!  My eldest daughter is expecting her first child!  We are so thrilled that makes 2 babies due this year in the Drew household!  She and her fiance are thrilled and we couldn’t be happier for them.

I have been so busy working on the “business” that I forgot what it is like to work and be at others time tables. It’s been so long and of course I stressed myself out trying to be perfect at what I was doing.  I would wake up exhausted constantly thinking about the job that I was doing and what needed to be done.  Dinner was an after thought.  I felt guilty that my house was not clean and I was running low on coffee creamer, and some cleaning supplies.  Chris’ hours are crazy so I was alone in everything.

One of the worse things would be that I woke up at 7am, drank my coffee, and started working immediately on the “business”.  I would look up and realize that it was 10:30am and I hadn’t had breakfast yet. So I would make some toast with strawberry jam and loads of butter.  Not filling, healthy or even something I prefer to eat.  You see I love oatmeal!  I have found that if you add nuts, cinnamon, and fruit, oatmeal is the bomb!

I realized if there was a way to make oatmeal quick, healthy and yummy then my breakfast could be a no-brainer!  Just take a 1/4 cup to 1/2 cup of this mix.  Add water, and put in the microwave for 1 minute 30 seconds.  Add milk and eat.

Quick Oatmeal Breakfast

4 Cups Old Fashioned Oatmeal
3 Tbsp Cinnamon*
1/2 Cup Brown Sugar**
3/4 Cup Walnuts***, chopped
5 oz Craisens****
6 Tbsp flax seed

Combine everything into a 2quart container (I’m guessing on the size as I just have a container that this fits into).  Shake, shake, shake until well mixed.  Take a 1/4 cup to a 1/2 cup of mix, add water, and microwave for 1 minute 30 seconds.  Add milk and eat!

This takes just a few minutes to make and a few seconds to prepare.  You can eat breakfast with time to spare.

* Cinnamon.  I love cinnamon, but some people don’t like it.  You can cut down or substitute pumpkin pie seasoning, or even apple pie seasoning. 

** Brown Sugar.  Substitute white sugar, artificial (yuck), or raw sugar.

***Walnuts.  I have used walnuts, pecans, and almonds.  You can substitute what ever nuts you like.

****Craisens.  Any dried fruit will do.  I once used a tropical dried fruit mix with dried pineapple and coconut.  Dried blueberries etc.

Precooked

Ready to eat.

 Made it for breakfast today and it was great. Plus it is pretty cheap to eat and healthy for you!  Play around and make this yours!  Have a wonderful creative living day!

Leave a Reply

