Coffee Creamer all natural.

Mmmm, coffee.  My morning mantra, that and peace and quiet for a couple of hours sets my day up for total awesomeness.  Everyone drinks coffee differently.  My dad adds just a touch of creamer and lots of artificial sweetener.  My daughters add lots of sugar and creamer.  I have friends who love it black, some with just sugar, and some like me who only want creamer in it.

Here’s the thing, I can’t drink coffee black unless it is such a high quality coffee. I just can’t afford that type of coffee.  I can’t imagine not having my coffee with creamer.  Years ago I stopped buying powdered non dairy creamer.  The thought did not compute in my brain that a powder non dairy creamer could possibly be good for me.  I recently bought some with my parents here to visit.  I read the ingredients on the back of the Coffee Mate container and could not pronounce most of the ingredients names.  That is my litmus test. No more of that stuff would I purchase.  During the course of my search for a replacement to my beloved creamer I came upon videos showing non dairy creamers catching on fire! Don’t believe me?  Watch this.

Even the Myth Busters created a cannon using non dairy creamer!

This just made me very determined never to use non dairy creamer again.  I switched to liquid creamer and found out that unless you buy a real dairy creamer that is natural like Bliss Creamer you are filling your system with ingredients that I can not pronounce.  So I decided to purchase half and half.  It is pretty good, but I just love my vanilla and hazel nut flavors.  Drinking coffee just wasn’t the same.  I liked the dash of flavor and just a little sweet added to my coffee.

This started my quest for flavored coffee creamer that was natural and yummy.  I searched Pinterest and blogs of all sorts for recipes.  Most of the recipes I found either used sweetened condensed milk and milk or   called for whipping cream and milk.  I tried the sweetened condensed milk  with milk recipes, but didn’t like the fact that I couldn’t control the amount of sugar added to my coffee and I used more than I used of my flavored coffee creamer.

Then I tried the whipping cream and milk. This time the fat in the whipping cream was just too much.   I tried both recipes using whole milk, 2% milk and half  & half and the other ingredients and just wasn’t happy. Then one day I am out of creamer and only had the half & half to add to my coffee.  I added a capful of vanilla nut flavoring to my coffee and then the half & half.  This wasn’t half bad!

Why make this a far more difficult thing than it is?  I took half & half and warmed it up, added a vanilla bean that has been scraped and the pod.  I then added a small amount of sugar and perfection!  Now I am sure you can use low fat half & half with this.

Such good stuff!

 To use the vanilla bean:  Cut the pod length wise and then take the blunt end of the knife and scrape from top to bottom.

I took this a couple of days later

Vanilla Coffee Creamer

2 Cups half & half  or low fat half & half
1 vanilla bean or 1 tsp to 1 tablespoon Vanilla extract *
sugar or artificial sweetener, honey, or agave syrup to taste.   I used 1/4 cup of sugar.  I will gradually drop this down.

Heat half and half over low heat..  Cut vanilla bean open and scrape into pan.  I put the pod in the bottle that I was keeping the finished product into.  Add sugar and stir until sugar in dissolved.  Remove from stove and let cool.  Once cool place into a bottle to store.  This will last about 2 weeks.

*You can use other types of extracts or flavorings.

Just to let you know I messed up and overheated my first batch.  I am using it and it still meets my standards for taste.  It does have some chunks of filmy milk, but it still tastes pretty good.

The basic recipe is:

2 Cups Half and Half

3 – 6 Tbsps of sweetener.  This can be anything you like.  I only use natural products.  But you can use artificial sweeteners, sugar, brown sugar, agave syrup, corn syrup (yes in moderation nothing is bad!).  Some sweeteners will change the taste such as brown sugar, raw sugar or honey.

I will be experimenting with different flavorings to add to the half & half and will be posting the recipes as I find flavors I love.

I have to make some more tonight so pictures will be coming.  Now here is an interesting idea, I have no more vanilla, beans or extract.  My extract is still 2-4 weeks from being made.  I do have almond flavoring and orange flavoring.  Maybe my next idea will be an chocolate almond and orange flavored coffee creamer?  Sound interesting?  I guess that is my way to Creative living!  

I made the coffee creamer with almond and orange extract and some semi sweet chocolate chips.  I made mine a little strong with the taste of orange.

Orange chocolate almond coffee creamer

2 cups Half and Half
1 tsp almond extract
1/2 tsp orange extract (I used 1 tsp and way to much)
1/4 cup semi chocolate chips.
3 Tbsp sugar

Warm half and half on stove in a sauce pan.  Add chocolate chips and sugar. Stir until melted. Remove from heat and add extracts.  Let cool and put into container for refrigerator.

I have to say that as long as you have a good base that you love, you can make anything!  I have vanilla nut flavoring, Toffee nut flavoring, and even black walnut.  I went to the closest cooking store “The Wooden Spoon”.  This is local in West Melbourne.  This is my Disney Land.  I found an amazing assortment of flavorings among everything!  

Toffee Nut Creamer

2 cups Half & Half
1 tsp Toffee Nut flavoring
1 tsp Vanilla Extract
4 Tbsp Agave syrup

Warm half and half on stove in a sauce pan.  Add sugar. Stir until melted. Remove from heat and add extracts.  Let cool and put into container for refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

