Quick, Easy, Best Tasting Waffles of all time! At least I think so!

Waffles have always been a mystery to me.  Oh, not eating them. I have no issue with eating them. I love a nice fruit topping with some whipped cream,  preferably blueberry topping on my waffle.  I also love eating them at restaurants for breakfast.  But making them?  I either make very dry waffles or ones that are just okay. I used a malted waffle mix that was good, but just not what I was looking for. I was looking for a light fluffy waffle that didn’t overwhelm the butter and syrup or other topping, but one that complimented them.  I think another big test is if you can eat the waffle plain.  How many of you have taken a waffle from the waffle maker and thought this looks yummy enough to eat and eaten it right then and there?  I have with this recipe I am going to share with you.  It was amazing!

When I came upon this recipe I was just looking at my favorite sight Pinterest.  I read the name and thought right.  I bet it is a Waffle of Insane Greatness. Sarcasm dripping from my lips, but this recipe that was posted by Plain Chicken really is!  I set it in my bookmarks to try at a later date just to see because I am always trying to find better recipes than the ones I have already.  The link to her site is this:  http://www.plainchicken.com.  I love reading other people’s blogs. I get some great ideas from them and then play with the ideas to make it my own.  I did that with this recipe.  I will give you her recipe that she got from Aretha Frankensteins in Chattanooga, TN.   One day I hope to stop there and have the waffles.   We travel through Chattanooga when we visit our daughter and our hometown.  If the recipe is this great they must have the best waffles in the world to me!

This is the recipe from Plain Chicken’s site:

Waffle of Insane Greatness
Aretha Frankensteins

3/4 cup all-purpose flour
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup whole buttermilk
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1 1/2 tsp sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
Butter and syrup, for serving

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, cornstarch, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; mix well. Add the milk, vegetable oil, egg, sugar and vanilla and mix well. Let the batter sit for 30 minutes.

Preheat a waffle iron. Do not use non-stick spray on the waffle iron; the oil in the batter will allow the waffle to release easily. Follow the directions on your waffle iron to cook the waffles. Serve immediately with butter and syrup.

 
all ingredients needed for this except the egg

 Dry ingredients mixed together with a whisk prior to added wet ingredients.

Blend the ingredients well.  It really is this runny.

Preheat your waffle maker.  Do not use non stick spray.  As Plain Chicken says the oil in this recipe will keep it from sticking.

Not as pretty as I would like it, but it was my first time of making these.

Finished product with butter and syrup on it.  I admit it is not as pretty as I would like it, but doggone tasty! 

This only makes about 2.5 waffles so if you plan on making it for more than one to two people please adjust the recipe.

Now for my variation.   The only differences I have made is instead of using 3/4 cup of flour and 1/4 cup of  corn starch I used 1 cup of my cake flour.  I also used 1 tbsp of sugar.  I usually cut sugar, but my sugar in my sugar bowl was hard and I couldn’t quite get the chunks small enough.  It worked so I am going to stick with it.

Waffle of Insane Greatness  (Sue’s changes)  Sorry Aretha!
Aretha Frankensteins

1 cup cake flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup whole buttermilk
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 egg
1 tbsp sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
Butter and syrup, for serving

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, cornstarch, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; mix well. Add the milk, vegetable oil, egg, sugar and vanilla and mix well. Let the batter sit for 30 minutes.

Preheat a waffle iron. Do not use non-stick spray on the waffle iron; the oil in the batter will allow the waffle to release easily. Follow the directions on your waffle iron to cook the waffles. Serve immediately with butter and syrup.

I have to say these are the lightest, fluffiest, tastiest waffles I have ever eaten.  This recipe has been added to my blue recipe bible of recipes I can’t do without! 

My suggestions.  Those of you who rush with your kids or without kids in the morning who think the best thing to eat in the morning is an Eggo waffle, a donut or worse try making this ahead of time and freezing it!  If you like cinnamon waffles, add some cinnamon to the batter.  If you like blueberry waffles, add some dried blueberries to the mix. Use dried blueberries, cherries, nuts dried coconut, etc.  If you take a morning to prepare you can make these on a Saturday or Sunday morning and make a few extra, you can individually freeze these and pop in the toaster oven or in the microwave.  I wouldn’t use the toaster as they are not very firm and may fall inside the toaster and then we have a whole other type of mess and disaster.

By freezing these and eating during the week you are thinking out of the box, feeding your family healthy foods that you know what is in the mix.  You decide how much sugar your family gets.  You can substitute a little whole wheat flour, maybe 1/4 cup and only use 3/4 cup cake flour.  Maybe add some applesauce rather than oil.  The great think about recipes are they are not written in stone.  You can make changes to make them all your own.  You may not get the same texture, but you can be CREATIVE LIVING with very little work or time!

Leave a Reply

