Easy Cheap way to make Cake Flour.

This past year my youngest daughter got married.  They are young, in love, college students, who are broke.  Now that is not a bad thing.  I remember being young, in love, and broke.  It made for a very strong bond.
They didn’t really care how, where, and when they got married.  They just wanted to get married.  My husband and I decided that since we paid a decent amount of money to attend and for our middle daughter’s wedding and are paying to go to Mexico for our eldest daughter’s wedding, we can help them with their wedding.

They chose to get married on the beach.  It was very  pretty and sweet.  We had the rehearsal dinner at my house.  The ac wasn’t working all that well and I had baked most of the day. The grooms mom made some of the food and I made some.  I baked the cake for the reception using a couple of recipes from  smittenkitchen.com.  I loved her choices for her own wedding.  My mom decorated it because I have no idea where to begin with that.  The grooms family paid for a reception at Carabbas, an Italian Restaurant.  It was really nice.

The cake.  I can’t seem to find a closer picture. The flowers are red.

My handsome husband and beautiful Daughter on her happy day.

To get back to the cake I had never baked a cake using cake flour.  My baking teacher was my mom and she taught me that all purpose is all you need.  I wanted this to be perfect for my daughter.  I decided to actually follow a recipe and get cake flour.  WOW did my eyes get wide when I saw the price!  I purchased it and the cake came out sooooo good.  When the weekend was over and all the family left I decided to find out what makes Cake Flour so expensive.  I Googled how to make Cake flour. 

It turns out that all cake flour is is a cup of all purpose flour with 2 tablespoons taken out and 2 tablespoons of cornstarch added to it.  I was amazed at how easy it is.  So now I am making it in decent quantities for baking.  The mix I made and the store bought cake flour gives me the exact same results.

Cake Flour

1 cup all purpose flour minus 2 tbsp
2 tbsp cornstarch

My container full

7 Cups all purpose flour
1 cup cornstarch.

I used this in my croissants and in the waffles I just made that I have got to share with you later! The effect were light and fluffy croissants and waffles.  This just took them to a much higher level I have ever baked at.

Instead of spending $4 for a box of cake flour I just used what I had on hand.  I may have spent $1.50 for the same amount of my mix compared to store bought cake flour.

Now that’s what I call CREATIVE LIVING!  🙂

Leave a Reply

