Oh my! I’m out of laundry soap!

Don’t you just hate it when you are in the middle of laundry day, with no clean clothes to speak of, and you are out of laundry soap or fabric softener?   That happened to me today.  Having other people in my house using my cleaning products leaves me not knowing what the status of said cleaning products are.  Not to mention the very bad Sheltie who knocked over the all purpose cleaner, somehow the cap fell off and I lost 2/3rds of my all purpose cleaner.  Bad dog Blue!  To be fair though, he was not a happy camper staying in the garage for a half hour while I ran to the store.  At least he didn’t pee on the dirty clothes. 

Back to the issue at hand, I was washing towels. I had 2 loads of towels to wash.  Now that is rarely the case, plus everything else.  When I do laundry I wash all the towels and then the whites.  Then I do Chris’ clothes and then my clothes.  I learned a long time ago never to wash our clothes together.  He gets rather dirty.  I then hang them on my clothes line to dry.  Once they are dry I put the towels with the whites that are not clothing of some kind for one load, then I put the whites that are clothing with Chris’ and mine.  That way I only use two 20 minutes dryer cycles to fluff the clothes.  This saves electricity and money. 

I used up all of my laundry soap and wouldn’t you know it?  I have no Lava soap!  I was debating wearing dirty clothes to run down to Ace Hardware or *gasp* use the store bought stuff.  Yes, I keep a small bottle for just this type of emergency.  But my favorite blogs came to the rescue.  I read this very morning that one of the bloggers had received from her readers a recipe for no bar soap laundry soap.  It said that you didn’t need to grate bars of soap to make it.  I followed directions.  It seems to be working, but I have to use far more of this soap to clean my clothes.  So I am not sold on it, but it did come in handy in the pinch.

I found this at:   http://www.onegoodthingbyjillee.com.  This is one of the blogs that I subscribe to.  She has some great ideas.  I also really want to give credit where it is due.  This is not my cup of tea, but like she says those who haven’t tried it because they don’t want to grate soap could actually give this a shot.  One thing I would suggest is not to add hot water to a plastic jug.  I heated my water up in a 2 quart measuring cup in the microwave. Then added dry ingredients and whisked.  Lastly I added the dish soap.

3 Tablespoons Borax
3 Tablespoons Washing Soda
2 Tablespoons Dawn Dish soap

Put these ingredients in a one gallon jug. Pour 4 cups boiling water into the jug. Swirl until ingredients are dissolved in the liquid. Let liquid cool. Then fill almost to the top with cold water. The bubbles will overflow out of the bottle.

 Now those of you who have read my blog are finding out that I am never satisfied with someone else’s idea and I have to change it up.  I added  3 Tbsp  Biz and 2 Tbsp OxycleanIt just seems so thin.  It may work wonders, but I would stack my powder up to it any day.  Isn’t that funny?  I just updated my laundry soap removing the water.

Enjoy all!

Leave a Reply

