How to make home made yogurt

I have always loved yogurt.  I mean the flavored stuff you buy at the store.  You know the stuff.  The sugar filled, some fruit or flavoring added.  All low fat with some ingredients that I can’t even pronounce let alone spell.  Now they have come out with the new best thing Greek yogurt.  The stuff is good, I’ll give you that, but it is very expensive.  $1.00 a single serving size is not cheap.

A couple of years ago I read the book French Women Don’t Get Fat, by Mireille Guiliano.  She is my hero!  I love the way she looks at food and her basic outlook on life.  One of her many great pieces of advice is eating 2 servings a day of yogurt.  She does not mean flavored and sweetened yogurt that is on the our local grocers shelves.  She meant plain yogurt.  I began by purchasing Stoneyfield Organic yogurt.  The French Vanilla flavor.  It is so good!  I loved it, but it was expensive to purchase 2 quarts a week.  MS. Guiliano gave instructions on how to make yogurt without and with a yogurt maker.  So I attempted to make it without a yogurt maker.  I did okay, but could not make a consistent product.

I researched all the yogurt makers out there.  I wanted one that gives me up to 2 quarts in one big container and not in a bunch of individual jars.  The one that  fits the bill for me is Yogourmet.multi.  I then searched and found it on Ebay.  I won it and have been making fresh yogurt from whole milk for the past few years.  Now it is plain with no sugar added. 

 heat 2 quarts of milk until it is 180 to 195 degrees
fahrenheit.
 I heat mine in the microwave for 17 minutes on high.

Let cool until room temperature.

Take a 1/2 cup of yogurt and mix with a little cooled milk using a whisk.  Gradually add all milk a cup at a time using the whisk.

To start a base of yogurt I begin with a single serve of plain Greek yogurt.  This is only for the first batch.  Each batch after the 1/2 cup of yogurt comes from the previous batch.

I also only use whole milk.  This makes the best consistency without additives.  You would need to add gelatin or dry milk to get a solid product when using 2% or less fat milk.   My youngest daughter is a vegetarian and so gelatin is out.  Don’t you think it is counterproductive to add something when you can use a simpler process?

 

Once everything is mixed it is added to the yogurt maker per the manufactures description.  I let it set overnight for close to 12 hours. 

Then I put it in the refrigerator until early evening.  Say 6 to 7. 

The finished product.  To make Greek yogurt you can strain with cheesecloth for a couple of hours.

My snack tonight, yogurt with walnuts and lemon curd. 

Homemade Yogurt

2 quarts Milk
1/2 cup plain yogurt

Heat milk to 180 to 195 degrees
Remove from heat and let cool until 85 to 90 degrees. 
Whisk 1 cup of milk at a time into yogurt.  Place in maker overnight.  Put into refrigerator for 6 hours until set. 

Make sure the milk cools before adding yogurt. You will end up with yogurt milk.  Not a pretty sight. This is one of my favorite snacks. 

Now there is a recipe to make this with no yogurt maker.  The link is:  http://frenchwomendontgetfat.com/content/making-yogurt

The above link is for a video showing how to make it.  Look all around her site and you will learn so much!

Leave a Reply

