A Redeux With Laundry Soap

It seems that everyone has a laundry soap recipe out there.  Back in 2008 when our lives made a 180 degree turn around I had a hard time finding a laundry soap recipe that suited me and my family inexpensively but cleaned really well.  The search was on.  I found many a recipe for a liquid laundry soap.  I was thrilled!  I didn’t like powdered laundry soap, so I jumped at the chance to try it.

The original recipe called for 8 quarts of hot water.  I happily grated my Ivory and Lava soap and then slowly added the grated soap to the hot water.   Oh my what a mess!  I didn’t do it slowly and it lumped, separated and foamed.    Disaster struck!!!!  It went everywhere.  I finally got things under control, cleaned my mess (YUCK)  and promised myself that would never happen again.

The second try I did go very slowly and most everything melted, but it separated and I had to keep a huge wooden spoon on the dryer to stir the stuff.  It worked wonderfully and cleaned everything I used it on.  My husband’s work clothes had the grease removed and my daughter’s clothes looked brighter and better than ever.  I was please, but really unhappy with the mess.

So, one day while drinking my morning coffee and watching My Fox Orlando’s morning show they had a young woman who demonstrated how to make laundry soap. She didn’t add water to hers.  I was amazed because it had never crossed my mind that water was not an absolutely necessary ingredient for laundry soap.  I debated with myself for a few days (Yes I did and most others do too. 🙂  )   The biggest complaint I have with powdered detergents is that they don’t always dissolve.  I was having the same issue with the laundry soap I was making.  So I took the plunge and made my laundry soap with out water,     Wait for it…………It works amazingly!  I use about 2 tablespoons per load and I am in heaven.   My youngest daughter asked for it when she moved out after getting married, my parents are here using it and they aren’t complaining.  You know parents, if it doesn’t work you will know about it.  I asked my mom what she thought and she was impressed because it is doing the same job as her ERA.

So here is my recipe for Laundry Soap

Sue’s Laundry Soap

2 bars of grated bar soap.  I use Ivory and Lava.
2 cups Borax
2 cups Washing Soda
2 cups Biz
1 cup of Oxy Clean.

 I added everything together into a food processor and pulsed until it is all pretty much the same consistency and then put into a ziplock plastic storage container, until I can find a cool looking container to store it in.

The finished product

This stuff is pretty amazing.  The only complaint I have had is from my husband concerning his work clothes.  This has very little scent and I was only using vinegar to rinse his clothes.  He said that when he sweated the work clothes smelled musty.  I cleaned my washer with a load of hot water with vinegar and then a load of hot water with bleach.  His clothes still smelled musty when he sweated.  I learned a recipe for fabric softener and the problem is solved.  The clothes smell good, they are soft, and no more musty smell.

Unfortunately I am nearly out of it and will have to buy some lava soap to make it.  Just read about someone making brownies and now I want some!  Oh happy me!

Leave a Reply

