Quick and easy all purpose cleaner

I am so glad to be back writing this blog.  Been a busy few months at the Drew household.  Time was not available for me to write and I missed it.  We have had lots of changes here is sunny (not so much this week) Central Florida.  My husband has been working on solar panels in the back yard and I am enjoying time with my parents. 

I have written so much about my laundry soap.  My mom is using it right now.  She feels it does exactly the same job as her Era laundry soap.  I feel completely vindicated as so many in my family think I am nutty. . Especially my husband’s side of the family.  Of course Chris feels that I am wonderful saving him money.  

I rarely buy cleaning supplies.  The few that I do buy I am working on new ways to make them just as good as the store bought ones.  On that note Pinterest has become one of my new favorite places.  More on that in another blog. šŸ™‚
 
Today  it is all about a good all purpose cleaner that cuts grease and eliminates germs.  I hate getting sick, don’t you?  I have been using this one for ages.  I use it on my ceramic tile floors, kitchen counters, bathroom sinks, walls, just about anything that is not unpainted wood or furniture.

Now, you could just use vinegar for most things, but the smell of vinegar is not appealing and it doesn’t quite clean everything.  This recipe does call for ammonia and borax.  In very small quantities.  The use of these products does not bother me and I feel comfortable enough with them.

WARNING LONG TERM USE OF THIS PRODUCT SAVES MONEY AND MAKES THOSE STORE BOUGHT CLEANERS IRRITATING TO THE NOSE!  No, Seriously!  I have been making this stuff since 2008.  I had a temp job for Christmas. We cleaned up and there was a bottle of a name brand cleaner left at the end. I decided not to waste it and take it home.  It was very strong smelling and it didn’t clean any better! I actually had to open a window to air the smell out.

 Here are the basic ingredients.  The bottle on the left is an empty vinegar bottle.  I experimented with different type of gallon containers.  This one is the longest lasting and most economical.  It doesn’t leak and it was FREE!

 Fill the gallon container 3/4 of the way full with water.  I used basic tap water. You can use distilled, but why bother when this is so much more convenient and works just as well.

 Now add 2 Tbsps of ammonia.  Any brand will do.   

Add 1/4 cup of  vinegar
2 tsp of Borax

 1 tsp of any dish washing soap. This is the Aldi brand container filled with Palmolive.

 Now this is a non essential ingredient, but one I like to add for a pretty smell.  This is a lavender essential oil.  I put 5 drops to add the wonderful smell of lavender in the batch.  Now you don’t have to add any of this or you can add another essential oil to the mix.

 Before this step, shake the container to mix.  You shouldn’t have to shake it again to mix, unless you want to.
Fill the bottle up the rest of the way with water.

And there you go!  1 gallon of great cleaning power with no muss or fuss! It costs next to nothing and it works so well!  I pour mine into a spray bottle for quick cleanups and use it by the 1/4 cup more or less depending on the condition of your floor, in my bucket to mop floors.
1 Gallon All Purpose Cleaner.

2 tablespoons ammonia
1 tsp liquid dish soap
1/4 cup vinegar
2 tsp Borax.

Fill a gallon container 3/4ths full of water, add above ingredients.  Add essential oil if desired.  Shake until well mixed.  Add water until full. Will foam some.  It’s okay to squeeze out the foam, ta da!  It is ready to use.

Let me know what you think of it!  I love feedback!

Leave a Reply

