Cool morning in Central Florida equals pumpkin pancakes!!!

I mentioned all the pumpkins I bought and cooked down then froze in the last couple of blogs.  I decided I had to make something with some of the pumpkin so I had about a 10 ounces of pumpkin ready to go sitting in the fridge. I was going to make pumpkin bread, but just wasn’t in the mood.  My girls have all wanted me to figure out how to make Pumpkin coffee. It didn’t take long to make at all.  I just wasn’t happy with the results.  I don’t like sweet drinks and this just was either not strong enough or to strong. So that goes back to the drawing board.


The weather was crisp and cool this morning.  I knew I needed to get the yard mowed.  Mowing this time should be the last time of the year to mow for me here in Central Florida.  I was drinking my coffee with all the windows opened and decided then and there that I was going to figure out how to make pumpkin pancakes. Besides I needed to fuel up to mow my yard.  I have a really great recipe from Martha Stewart for basic pancakes.  They are a hit every time I make them. I decided to use that as the base, but half the recipe.  This is what they looked as they were cooked on my griddle!

Pumpkin pancakes 

What made me pretty happy is this is the first time I have ever made up any part of a recipe by myself.  They were pretty easy and very moist. (Isn’t that a funny word?)

The pancakes once they were done.  The recipe made quite a few pancakes.  I think you could add toasted pecans or walnuts to the recipe and it would taste great.  I think I will try that the next time I make this.  You can serve this with whipped cream, maple syrup, pancake syrup, or with pecan syrup!  You can bet which one I did!  It was pretty good!

So here is the finished product and no,I did not eat all of those!  I learned quite a while ago that when it comes to food in my house no one eats at the same time.  Once your kids get a car they are out of here.  So I make what I want and then put the rest in the fridge.  When my husband gets home tonight he has his pick of pasta and mussels or this. 

PUMPKIN PANCAKES

1 Cup Flour
1 tsp Baking Powder
1 tsp Baking Soda
1/4 tsp Salt
1/8 tsp Nutmeg
1/8 tsp ground Cloves
1 tsp Cinnamon
3 Tbsp Sugar
1 lg Egg
1 1/2 Buttermilk
2 Tbsp melted Butter
1 Cup canned pumpkin

1.  Preheat  griddle to 375 degrees
2.  Mix eggs, buttermilk, melted butter, and pumpkin in medium bowl.
3.  Whisk Flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, nutmeg, ground cloves, cinnamon and sugar.
4.  Slowly add egg mixture to flour mixture.  Mix until lumpy. but no flour showing.
5. Use a small amount of butter to coat griddle and pour 1/4 cup of batter and cook.  This seemed to take a while, but I forgot to time it.  I’d say until you can see bubbles around the edges and it looks set. 

Enjoy!

Oh and in case you were wondering, the lawn has been mowed and looks beautiful darling!

Leave a Reply

