Finally a dishwashing detergent that doesn’t break the bank!

I have been  waging war on dish washing detergent.  I really just hate the stuff.  A few years ago I tried a recipe for it and it ruined my dishwasher.  It left this terrible film and everything looked terrible with a white deposit of excess powder that did not get dissolved.  Of course I had hard water so this made finding an alternative to dish washer detergent a pain.

I really thought that I would end up using the dish washing gel from Aldi’s forever. I have to say that the Aldi brand dish washing gel is pretty good.  My dishes always came out clean and the glasses sparkled.  It doesn’t cost much, especially compared to those little Cascade complete action pacs.  It is the one cleaning product from Aldi’s I recommend to everyone.

That being said  it is still a detergent not a soap.  It is an extra expense when I don’t need one.  I had found a recipe that I liked. In fact I liked it alot.  My dishes always came out clean and the glasses had no scum on them, but that had a lot to do with the fact that I put 1/2 cup to 3/4 cup of vinegar in with the cleaner.  It was a little labor intensive and involved 4 steps. I don’t like lots of steps.

You would make up the mix, use 1 tablespoon of it, add a few drops of  dishwashing liquid such as Dawn and then add the vinegar.  But then I found this recipe on One Good Thing by Jillee.  This woman is awesome and I highly recommend her site.  If you click on the link it will take you too her site for the full account of how she got this and the recipe to use. http://www.onegoodthingbyjillee.com/2012/03/homemade-dishwasher-soap-not-detergent.html

I have to admit I was not really interested once I read this.  I mean come on 3 steps?  I didn’t even look at the ingredients. I just thought it was crazy.  Then I ran out of dishwashing mix. I didn’t have time to make the mix I had been using so I searched for the recipe and it was to simple.  I also realized I had been doing everything in 3 steps anyway not including the mixing of the recipe. So I went searching for my Sun brand Oxy clean.  Added the dishwashing liquid, and the vinegar. Ran a normal cycle and the dishes came out perfect!

HOMEMADE DISHWASHING SOAP


1 TSP OXYCLEAN
1/2 TSP DISHWASHING LIQUID
1/2 CUP OF VINEGAR

I measured out the Oxyclean, put a small squirt of dishwashing liquid.  I did use Dawn, and just poured some vinegar into the bottom of the dishwasher.  I used to put the vinegar in the rinse aid dispenser, but like Jillie, it does not work for me.  She puts her vinegar in a bowl, but that takes up to much space and just pouring it in the bottom of the dishwasher has worked wonders for me.

I use Sun brand Oxyclean.  I bought a pail for $4 or $5 at Big lots. I used Dawn for this recipe as this is what I had on hand, but I have also used Gain and it works just as well.  DON’T add to much Dawn!  Less is more in this case. Measure it out if you have any misgivings.  I have been using vinegar in my dishwasher no matter what I use to clean dishes.  My dishes used to come out dirty, food particles still on them, and soap residue regardless unless I use a rinse aid. Vinegar works well and at $2.49 a gallon I think it is pretty cheap.

I have to say the next time Jillie posts an easier way to do something I am going to try it.

Leave a Reply

